This is the "Home" page of the "Health Insurance/Managed Care/Health Care Reform" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Insurance/Managed Care/Health Care Reform  

This LibGuide will assist you with research in the areas of health insurance/managed care/health care reform
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2013 URL: http://law.wne.libguides.com/healthinsurance Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Government and Policy Think Tank Reports

Various government offices produce nonpartisan reports:

Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
The CBO carries out analytical studies mainly per requests from Congressional Committees or Subcommittees. The studies focus on a wide array of subject matter. Health-related reports are available online from 1976 to present. 

General Accountability Office (GAO) Reports (1994- )
The GAO is the investigative arm of Congress. It is assigned to support Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities and to help improve the performance and accountability of the Federal Government. The majority of GAO reports are complete per the request of Congressional members.

Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS Reports)
The Congressional Research Service is the research arm of the Library of Congress. It is a think tank that provides non-partisan, comprehensive reports to Congressional members on a vast range of topics dealing with political issues. A search engine on the top of the page can be used to access articles to particular topics. Proquest Congressional Research Digital Collection provides full text of Congressional Research Service Reports (1916-present). 

Policy think tanks and research institutes also produce and publish many policy reports. To search for these, try searching the following database:

CQ Researcher is a database that covers news and policy issues involved in topics including health and the economy. User name, barcode number, and PIN number required for off-campus access. This database is available via D'Amour Library.

 

CATO Institute

This RSS Feed is produced by the CATO Institute in Washington, D.C. Its proclaimed mission is "to increase the understanding of public policies based on the principles of limited government, free markets, individual liberty, and peace." This RSS Feed provides their latest information on health insurance. 

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Welcome

    

The information contained in this guide is designed to help you start your research in the area of health insurance, managed care, and health care reform. We have divided the guide into the following tabs: secondary resources, primary resouces, indexes/databases, health insurance, managed care, and health care reform. We start with secondary sources to reinforce a basic research precept that it is efficient to start with a good secondary source that puts together for you the various laws, regulations, concepts, and cases that may be involved in these areas of law. 

If you have any questions, do not hesitate to use the contact information at the right, drop by the Reference Desk, call the Reference Desk (ext. 1458) or use the chat box, also located to the right. We welcome any suggestions on how to improve this resource.

Good luck with your research!

Kaiser Family Foundation

The Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. The Foundation serves as a non-partisan source of facts, information, and analysis for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the public. Their website is one of the best sources for information on health care issues.

 

Doing Health Care Reform the Right Way: Putting states back in charge

Presented by the Hudson Institute - a nonpartisan policy research organization, founded by stategist Herman Kahn, focused on research and analysis that promotes global security, prosperity, and freedom. Helpful articles are published on this site.

Summary - Hudson Institute was pleased to host Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT), the Ranking Republican on the Senate Committee on Finance, as he laid out his ideas for meaningful reform of the American health care system. Sen. Hatch argued that, by empowering States to act as fifty laboratories of democracy, a decentralized reform effort will better address the particular needs of states and local communities. This approach worked in the highly successful welfare reform of the 1990s, and it, Sen. Hatch believes, will work again to bring down skyrocketing health care costs and reform unsustainable entitlement programs such as Medicaid.

My Profile

Profile Image
Pat Newcombe

Associate Dean for Library & Info. Resources

Contact Info
Law Library
413-782-1616
Send Email
 

Chat with a Librarian

 

Library Assistance

Reference Hours During the Academic Year

Monday-Thursday 9:30 a.m.-7:00 p.m.
Friday 9:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

Librarians who staff the Reference Desk are available to help you plan your research strategy and to help you find resources that might be useful in your project. You may set up an appointment to speak with a Librarian about your research needs. The Law Library offers two types of electronic reference service for our law students: email and chat. To use email reference service, please contact either Renee Rastorfer or Neal Smith. The chat reference service is available during all scheduled reference hours, unless otherwise publicized. The buddy name of the Law School Library is WNELawChat. We are monitoring AOL Instant Messenger, myspace, and Yahoo! Messenger. See the "Chat With a Librarian" Box above. Click here to learn more about reference chat service.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip